Skip to main content

Welcome to Shuksan Middle School!   

 

This Welcome Newsletter has videos and information to introduce the staff and provide you with information for incoming 6th grade families.

 

We also want to publish some of the Questions that incoming families have asked:

 

Q: When can we take a tour of Shuksan?
A: We hope to invite families for tours at the end of August ’20.  Due to safety measures, all school buildings are closed.

 

Q:  Can my student participate in Shuksan Summer Reading?

A:  Yes!  We would love for each Shuksan student to “Finish 5!” this summer.  Go here for more info.

 

Q:  Can 6th grade students take Spanish?

A:  Yes, those students not taking Band or Orchestra are eligible for a Spanish class.  It is a class that rotates at the semester.  More questions?  Email our counselor, Jennifer Cowan, for more details.

 

Q: What will happen during COVID-19? and how will you let us know about any changes? 

A: The school district will make the decisions about what school looks like in September.  They will announce those decisions to families via email, phone calls and social media. The Shuksan team will also communicate with families. If you have questions, the best people to email after August 1, 2020, are the principals.

 

We look forward to meeting you soon.
If you have any questions, we invite you to contact:

Matt Whitten, Principal: Matthew.Whiiten@BellinghamSchools.org

Alli Hancock, Assistant Principal:  Allison.Hancock@BellinghamSchools.org

Peggy Foster, Admin. Assistant to the Principal:  Peggy.Foster@BellinghamSchools.org

Cat Roosma, Registrar and Counseling Admin. Assistant:  Catherine.Roosma@BellinghamSchools.org

Coco Besson, School Counselor: Coco.Besson@BellinghamSchools.org

Jennifer Cowan, School Counselor:  Jennifer.Cowan@BellinghamSchools.org